List of Indian Nobel Laureates

On October 15, 2019, Abhijit Banerjee, an Indian-born American economist, was added to the List of Indian Nobel Laureates for his significant contribution to the field of economic sciences. He was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize alongside Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer for establishing an experiment to alleviate global poverty.

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian to receive a Nobel Prize in the year 1913 for Literature. Post that, many eminent personalities have been listed as Nobel Prize winners from India.

This article is about the list of Indian Nobel Prize winners. 

Indian Citizenship

Nobel LaureatesFieldYear
Rabindranath TagoreLiterature1913
C. V RamanPhysics1930
Mother TeresaPeace1979
Amartya SenEconomic Sciences1998
Kailash SatyarthiPeace2014

Born in India but different Citizenship

Nobel LaureatesFieldYearNationality
Har Gobind KhoranaPhysiology/Medicine1968United States
Subrahmanyam ChandrasekharPhysics1983United States
Venkatraman RamakrishnanChemistry2009United KingdomUnited States
Abhijit BanerjeeEconomic Sciences2019United States

Indian Residents at the time of being awarded & Non-Indian Citizenship

Nobel LaureatesFieldYearNationality
Ronald RossPhysiology/Medicine1902United Kingdom
Rudyard KiplingLiterature1907United Kingdom
Tenzing Gyatso (14th Dalai Lama)Peace1989Tibet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Law Faculty
error: Content is protected !!