The Madhya Pradesh Judicial Service Examination or MP PCS (J) Civil Judge Examination is organized each year by the Madhya Pradesh High Court to hire suitable candidates for the post of Civil Judge Grade II or Judicial Magistrate First Class. A total of 252 vacancies will be filled through the exam. 

The examination shall be conducted in three stages.

Online Preliminary Examination 

Main Examination 


MP Civil Judge Preliminary Syllabus 

The MP Civil Judge syllabus for the Preliminary exams is divided into 4 parts. The syllabus includes sections regarding Law, English, General Knowledge, and Computer Knowledge. The full MP Civil Judge syllabus for the Preliminary exams is as mentioned below.

First Part
Constitution of India10 questions
Code of Civil Procedure 190815 questions
Transfer of Property Act 1882 7 questions
Contract Act of 1872 8 questions
Specific Relief Act of 1963 6 questions
Limitation Act of 1963 4 questions
MP Accommodation Control Act of 1961 5 questions
MP Land Revenue Act of 19595 questions
Indian Evidence Act of 187215 questions
Indian Penal Code 1861 15 questions
Code of Criminal Procedure 197315 questions
Negotiable Instrument Act 18815 questions
Second Part
General Knowledge20 Questions
Computer Knowledge10 Questions
English Knowledge10 Questions




  • Error Correction (Underlined Part).
  • Substitution.
  • Fill in the blanks.
  • Spotting Errors.
  • Prepositions.
  • Passage Completion.
  • Para Completion.
  • Sentence Improvement.
  • Active Voice and Passive Voice.
  • Error Correction (Phrase in Bold).
  • Sentence Arrangement.
  • Synonyms.
  • Idioms and Phrases.
  • Passage Completion.
  • Antonyms.
  • Joining Sentences.


  • Transfer of Property Act, 1882.
  • Negotiable Instrument Act, 1881.
  • The Indian Evidence Act, 1872.
  • Civil Procedure Code, 1908.
  • Indian Contract Act, 1872.
  • Criminal Procedure Code, 1973.
  • Constitution of India.
  • P. Land Revenue Act, 1959.
  • Limitation Act, 1963.
  • P. Area Control Act, 1961.
  • Specific Relief Act, 1963.
  • Indian Penal Code, 1861, etc

General knowledge

  • Indian Politics.
  • Countries and Capitals.
  • General Science.
  • Tourism.
  • Indian History.
  • Artists.
  • Heritage.
  • Environmental Issues.
  • Literature.
  • Famous Books & Authors.
  • Geography.
  • Rivers, Lakes and Seas.
  • Civics.
  • Famous Days & Dates.
  • Indian Parliament.
  • Indian Economy.
  • Inventions and Discoveries.
  • Biology.
  • Famous Places in India.
  • Sports.
  • Current Affairs.

Computer Knowledge

  • MS Office.
  • MS Excel.
  • Fundamentals of Computer.
  • MS PowerPoint.
  • MS Word.
  • The Hardware of Computer.
  • MS Windows.
  • Operating Systems.
  • The Internet and its usage etc

Main Examination



Total Marks

Exam Duration

Main Exams

Civil Law And Procedure


3 Hours

Writing And Abbreviation


Local Law, Criminal Law, And Procedure


Decision Writing




MP Civil Judge Mains Syllabus

The MP Civil Judge mains syllabus 2020 is also divided into 4 four different sections. The syllabus for all these sections is as provided below.



Paper 1

  • Constitution of India
  • Code of Civil Procedure, 1908
  • Transfer of Property Act, 1882
  • Indian Contract Act, 1872
  • Specific Reliefs Act, 1963 (I, II and VI to VIII)
  • Limitation Act, 1963 (Parts II & III)

Paper 2

  • Writing on Social Issue
  • Writing on Legal Issue
  • Precis Writing
  • Translation (Hindi to English)
  • Translation (English to Hindi)

Paper 3

  • MP Accommodation Control Act, 1961
  • MP Land Revenue Code, 1959
  • Indian Evidence Act, 1872
  • Indian Penal Code, 1860
  • Code of Criminal Procedure, 1973
  • Negotiable Instruments Act, 1881

Paper 4

  • Framing of Issues- 10 marks
  • Framing of Charges- 10 marks
  • Judgement or Order (Civil) Writing – 40 marks (Civil Judge II Class level)
  • Judgement or Order (Criminal) Writing – 40 marks (Judicial Magistrate First Class Level)

Note : For the Judgement/ Order writing, a Plaint, Written Statement, Charge Sheet and Complaint will be provided.

Minimum Qualifying Marks for MP Civil Judge exam

The minimum qualifying marks are always decided by the exam conducting authority and are shared with the candidates on their official website. The minimum qualifying marks are the scores that must be obtained by the candidates to be qualified for further stages of selection. Aspirants can check the minimum qualifying marks for all the categories from the table given below. 


Minimum Qualifying Marks (Prelims)


90 marks


90 marks

Reserved Category

82 marks

Minimum Qualifying Marks (Interview)

All categories

20 marks

Similar Posts